• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Diagnosed last week...

Hi all. I'm very new to all of this...
I started out in January having diarrhea. In March, I started with joint pain and erythema nodosum (I had no idea that's what it was, I just thought I hit my shin really hard, but couldn't remember.) I went to my General Practitioner with these seemingly unrelated symptoms. Nonetheless, I was there, so I thought I should mention them all. She quickly started linking them all together and ordered a battery of tests. My sedimentation rate came back at 61, so she referred me to both a rheumatologist and a gastroenterologist. I saw both physicians and ended up having a colonoscopy last week. I was diagnosed with Crohns. :( The doc wanted me to do one more stool sample and some more blood work to ensure it wasn't something else (infectious colitis, i think he said...) then I go back this Thursday to find out what my treatment plan will be.
I'm super scared/nervous about all of this. I am glad that I've had a week to do some research before starting treatment.
Can anyone share with me what their first course of treatment was? I'm reading a lot about prednisone and the side effects that go along with it. Was anyone started out on Entocort instead (and if so what were the side effects of that?)
Also, how long does it typically take for someone to go into remission after being diagnosed?
Any help anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated! I'm feeling really scared and alone right now...