• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hiya

Hey i'm new here. Found this place through google and thought why the hell not join! My names Nicola, I'm 22 and i'm from Wales.

I'm pretty new to this disease, started having slight symptoms in June 2010. Woke up one morning with a lil bit of diarrhoea but didn't think anything of it, just a simple stomach bug right? I WISH!

By November i was 2 and a half stone lighter, was bleeding quite a lot, had to stop working because of the pain and was pretty damn miserable because i had no idea what was going on.

Experienced my 1st flexible endoscopy in Nov. Then saw my gastroenterologist who diagnosed me with Crohns. I was put on a course of prednisolone (30mg) and Mezavant XL (2400mg)

They did NOTHING :yfrown:

By february i was another half a stone lighter, could barely move, taking ferrous fumarate tabs for anaemia and colecalciferol for osteoporosis and was vomiting so i was admitted into hospital for a little while. Got pumped full of anti biotics, iv food drips and some more steroids. But was out after 2 weeks :)

I've had a CT scan, capsule endoscopy and am scheduled to have another endoscopy soon to try and work this thing out as the drugs i'm currently on (mezaphant xl (4800mg), Prednisolone (15mg), Azathioprine (75mg) Movicol (4 sachets)and my iron and calcium tabs) don't seem to have much effect on my symptoms.

On the plus side i am back working part time :dance::dance::dance: Powering my way through the pain and tiredness to earn myself some pennies :D