• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hey, i'm new on here.

S

sarahinyoface

hey, i'm new on here.

hey everyone. I'm new to this message board, my friend told me about it. I'm glad she did actually, as I've never spoke to people who have the same condition as me before.

I'm 17, i have crohn's disease. I was diagnosed with it in march 2003. although i suffered with it for over 6 months before that.
I was admitted to hospital in february 2003 and was there for a month until they found out what was wrong with me. I had all the common tests; barium, bloods, white cell scan, endoscopy etc.
They then put me on a high does of prednisolone, azathioprine and pentasa granules. I also had an NG feeding tube and wasn't allowed food for 6 weeks whilst i had Elemental through the tube.
I came off the steroids slowly, and my crohns became worst.

In December last year i finished another course of steroids (prednisolone). I was on them for over a year. I was sick of being on them. They helped at first but I was on them for such a long time they didn't seem to make any difference to my illness anymore. Every time i went for a hospital appointment they would either put the dose up or down. I was so fed up with it. Anyway I've finally come off steroids, which I'm very glad about.

At the moment i'm taking:
azathioprine - 150mg
mezalazine - 1g - 3 times a day = 3g
omeprazole - 20mg
VSL#3 - one sachet mixed with water.

I also have 1000ml of Ensure Plus through my p.e.g. tube overnight, 7 nights a week just to 'top me up' because I don't eat enough during the day.