• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hi all

hi all

hi, i'm just going to dive in..

i was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis in 1996. i responded well to sulfasalazine and had very few symptoms.

in 1998, about a month before i graduated from high school, i got really sick. i was going to the bathroom all the time, running fevers, passing out after standing or using the restroom. then i started getting horrible chest pains. all of the tests my doctors ordered came back inconclusive and they had no idea what was going on.

finally my gastro did a test and figured out i had c-diff. i ended up in the hospital the day after graduation and was there for 12 days. along with the c-diff i had paracarditis caused by an allergic reaction to the sulfasalazine. the paracarditis made it painful to take deep breaths and that caused the bottoms of my lungs to collapse. i was pretty sick.

after i got out my doctors didn't want to put me back on any of the 5-asa drugs because they were afraid the paracarditis would return. we tried to get everything under control with imuran, but that was ineffective. for the next year i was in and out of the hospital every other month or so getting fluids and blood transfusions.

on my 19th birthday i passed out while in the house alone and ended up back in the hospital. my gastro visited me that night and we talked about the next step. surgery. he had brought it up before, but it terrified me and i wouldn't consider it until it was the only thing left.