• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Gearing up for surgery

Hello everyone! I'm a newbie. I am 41 years old, married with 2 wonderful boys. I was diagnosed with Crohn's disease in July 2000. It was 80% involved in the large bowel. 11 1/2 years later, I have been in and out of the hospital, have tried 6-mp, been on the dreaded Prednisone, Azathioprine, Flagyl, Asacol, Folic Acid, blah blah! On December 14th, I will undergo an abdominoperineal resection. Wow. The surgeons are amazed that I am not full of colon cancer, so I'll take that miracle and run with it! My last colonoscopy was obviously not good, he had to stop a bit past the transverse colon, so getting past the hepatic flexure and down from there proved too dangerous. I am scared, but ready. I have lots of scarring "down there" from giving birth to big babies, and have 2 other surgeries under my belt including a hysterectomy and gallbladder. I must admit, I am somewhat concerned with my appearance sporting around an ileostomy, but am most concerned with comfort, clothing wear, leaks, and skin issues. After all, I have thin, pale Irish skin! It has immensly helped me reading all of your stories, and I strive to continue to just move forward, and to gain as much info as I can prior to surgery. Thanks to all of you for your stories and help, and if you can offer any advice, I will gladly listen! Warmest regards, Snap:heart:

KWalker