• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

I feel lost

I am very new to this disease, at least as far as being one who suffers from it.

I was officially diagnosed on December 19th, 2011. An early Christmas gift I must say, instantly starting Crohn’s therapy which involves swallowing 8 Pentasa tablets a day. (500mg)

When I started the many tests which included a Colonoscopy, Upper GI small bowel follow through, then the Capsule Endoscopy, I honestly thought I would come out undiagnosed. I guess I was simply hoping. My father suffered from Ulcerative Colitis, and if anything I believed I would have that. I was truly shocked to learn I had Crohn’s Disease.

Since my diagnosis, things have definitely changed. I am noticing now that some foods bother me to the extreme. I can no longer enjoy lactose. In fact it is one of the worst intolerances I seem to have. With the holidays came all sorts of goodies which I was very much able to enjoy last year and all the years prior to this one. This year however; within a very short time frame of having my favourite deserts came unbelievable pain. Anything that had cream, dairy, chocolate, nuts, or any form of taste to them sent me reeling with discomfort. And to top it all off, the stress factor of burdening my loved ones and feeling sad due to how my disease seems to be impacting their lives on a negative scale made the pain even more unbearable. Stress affects my pain levels like nothing else. And the more I cry and need that compassion and understanding, the more I am pushed away and scolded for feeling the way I do.