• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My story plus the occasional question

Hi everyone, this forum is amazing! I have found answers to so many little questions I keep forgetting to ask the doctor.
I am new to crohns and this forum and I thought I would introduce myself.

I have had intermittent tummy troubles since I was in early high school (Im now 23) plus severe chronic gastric reflux, and I finally decided to follow it up last year. My symptoms are variable bowel habits ranging from constipation to diarrhoea up to 6 or 7 times a day with lots of mucus, stomach pain and cramps, nausea, fatigue and anaemia. Plus the indigestion.

I was diagnosed as probably crohns but possibly UC late 2011, with disease all through my colon, possibly my terminal ileum and maybe my stomach.
I am currently on pentasa and omeprazole. Compared to most people on here my symptoms are pretty mild!! You guys are amazing with your positive attitudes.

Now for my question. I mentioned to my doctor that I have always been susceptible to 'tummy bugs' and he said they may have been crohns flaring up. My question is how do I tell a mild flare from a tummy bug? (My symptoms in the past, which I have put down to a bug, have been fever, nausea, increased increased stomach pain and diarrhoea with mucus, plus really bad fatigue).
I just don't really know what to expect and when to say this is a flare up and do something about it or just suck it up and ride it out.

I appreciate any feedback, and once again thanks for such a great place for people to go to :) :)

Jessi

Hello gstewart, and welcome to the forum. :)

I'm really glad that this forum is here. I think it's amazing, too! Good thing we've joined, eh?