• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New and headed und the knife

Hi, I guess I am a newbie in the forum. I have been perusing it for a week or so and finally decided to put up a post. I was diagnosed with CD in march 11 after a long work up. By June I was prednisone depend and having a lot of pain and flares which are typically cramping, fever/chills, hip pain followed by vomitting and sometime D. Pretty typically I guess. Anyway, over the summer I had to keep increasing pred (which I hate because it makes me feel like a tweeker) and failed a bunch of useless meds like Mesalamine and entocort and am currently on Immuran. Anyway, long story short, I ended up in the hospital for a week with partial small bowel obstruction and micro perforations of my colon. They put me on IV steroids which really sent me to Crazytown, where I promptly elected myself mayor! Oh i forgot to mention I have had two doses of Remicade so far which i feel is actually working.

The biggest deal is that I have a stricture at my ileocecal jxn which I am having addressed with a Right Hemicollectomy next Wednesday. Laproscopic ig all goes as planned. Initially I was petrified of surgery but after reading so many of these threads I feel that I have made a good choice. Even though I am scared about pain and medical mistakes complications...