• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Me and crohns: The Never-Endng Rollercoaster

Hi. I'm new here and I've never written anything like this before, but I thought I'd share my story looking forward for your feedback and guidance

I have to apologize in advance for my English, i'm sure you'll find a lot of mistakes and typos :)

It's a long story so bear with me.

I'm thirty years old and I have crohn's disease

I'm sure you all know what that means and how it could affect your life
And I'm sure too that you're all facing difficult situations where you have to make a choice between two unpleasant options

It wasn't an easy journey for me to be diagnosed with crohn's, coz it wasn't a typical presentation

It started on October 2011 with fever, sweating and tiredness for three weeks. I went to see a couple of doctors where they made some tests but with no help at all.

I remember spending my 30th birthday in the hospital having my first ultrasound ever.

During that time, I did not take even one single day off from work, although my doctors advised me to, but I didn't want to coz I just started this new job and I haven't even finished the probation period yet.

So, for three weeks, I would go to work, Suffer through and try to do my job. I was living on panadol and brufen. I used to take a lot just to help with the bodyache and fever.

After three weeks, everything subsided without any obvious reason why.

It was very hard not knowing what was wrong, and I was afraid that It might happen again