• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hello and Dilemmas...

Hey fellow Crohnies,

I'm new, and I'll probably be pretty shy--however, I need advice and y'all seem friendly and helpful.

First to introduce myself. I'm a college student, was diagnosed with Crohn's as a freshman in high school. Prior to diagnosis, I was majorly underweight for years and had no idea why but wasn't really concerned cuz then I could eat pretty much anything I wanted ;). Freshman year, had pain in my lower right side and was told it was a pulled muscle. Lived with an abscess in my gut for two months before they figured it out and tried to drain it repeatedly, eventually had open abdominal surgery to find an 8inch hole in my small intestine. And thus I have Crohns!

Sophomore year was the last year I really felt fantastic and actually healthy. Since, I'm almost always okay (no major symptoms, nothing to definitively point to), but never really actually feeling healthy--you know the feeling? Which is totally liveable; however, it is getting to the point now where I'll be generally okay for an extended period of time, then have an absolutely horrible weekend out of nowhere. Meh.