• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

CD8+ T-Cell Deficiency, Epstein-Barr Virus Infection, Vitamin D Deficiency....

Here's the link to the free full report.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3270541/?tool=pubmed

And here's the pubmed abstract. I found this very interesting. I'm not too good with the technical discussion of immunology, but if I understand correctly, the gist of this article is the hypothesis that IBD sufferers, like many other autoimmune sufferers, are infected with Epstein-Barr virus, and that this, in combination with a genetic problem regulating CD8+ T-Cells within the setting of a deficiency of sunlight/vitamin D, auto-immune disease occurs within a target organ(s). It sounds like a really persuasive report, at least when reading the full report.

The author's final comment makes me wonder, "...successful treatment of chronic autoimmune diseases by controlling EBV infection." Does anyone know anything about how EBV infection can be "controlled"? I found this, which talks about EBV, but I saw no mention of how it can be "controlled". Mainly it just mentions that 95% of the population is infected with EBV.

http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/diseases/ebv.htm

Autoimmune Dis. 2012;2012:189096. Epub 2012 Jan 24.
CD8+ T-Cell Deficiency, Epstein-Barr Virus Infection, Vitamin D Deficiency, and Steps to Autoimmunity: A Unifying Hypothesis.
Pender MP.
SourceSchool of Medicine, The University of Queensland, Brisbane, QLD 4072, Australia.

Abstract