• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

I'm a little confused

Hello all,

The knowledge on this sight is vast and I would really appreciate if someone can clear this up for me as I am fairly new to this.

I have had severe outbreaks of mouth ulcers, abdomen pain/ache and very strange bowel movements for almost 5 weeks now (including mucus, yellow, dhiorea, wierd shapes etc). I have not eaten any fatty foods, chocolate or drunk anything but water throughout this as i initially thought I had an Ulcer.

Since then I have had an ultrasound and stool test, the ultrasound came back ok but the stool test showed high calprotectin levels which indicates active intestinal disease.

My question is... If I have Crohn's disease, how long is each episope likly to take before the ulcers/condition heals and I am releaved of pain? (back to normal)

I know the condition has no cure although I assume this means it will reoccur throughout life rather than I will always suffer the symptoms, am I correct?

I have results of an Endoscopy back tomorrow and I think my doctor will then send me for a colonoscopy which will tell me everything I need to know hopefully.

Thanks all.

Jennifer

Adminstrator
Staff member
The faster you get the flare under control the shorter the flare will be (that's generally speaking). Keeping you out of flares/in remission is the harder part. Getting the flare under control usually requires medication and the length of the flare will depend on the severity and the person.