• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Newbie Here: My Life with Bad Gas and Watery Poo

fenway1971

Sports Crohnie
I guess I always knew I had IBD. My mom suffered from UC until she was cured with J-Pouch procedure. One of first to have it done in the 1980's. My memories as a child were of her, bed-ridden, occasionally hospitalized and dealing with side effects of Prednisone. Never thought much about my bad gas or watery poos because I never saw blood and the diarrhea never lasted for more than a few days at a time.

That was until 5 years ago, when at age 32, I had 6 weeks in a row of non-stop watery poo and dropped 15 lbs off my already skinny girth. I was 5'10 and a manly 140lbs.

Oh, and my abdomen was sore. Fearing appendicitis, my primary care doc sent me in for tests which ultimately led to visiting my gastroenterologist. After sticking a finger up my butt and noticing blood, he ordered a colonoscopy. And, wha la...there it was....sever inflammation of my entire colon. Looked like UC but biopsies suggested Crohn's Colitis.

I took meds religiously for 6 months (9 beastly Colazal's a day), altered my diet and got my self back to "K-1" or "K-2" on the poo scale. For those of you not related to me, I invented my own personal poo scale:

K-1: The perfect poo. A floating log and one wipe.
K-2: Looks like a poo but is soft. Requires 2 wipes.
K-3: A pile. Requires 3 wipes.
K-4: A watery, splashy mess. Requires 4 or more wipes.