• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to the forum, not new to Crohn's!

First time posting, and wanted to share my story. I've been diagnosed with CD for about 6 years now, but Ive had symptoms since age 9. When I graduated high school, I dropped about 40lbs in a little less than 3 months. I was in nursing school, so I attributed it to stress, of course. When I was 21, I began getting anorectal abscesses with fistulas. I was basically given flagyl/cipro, that's it. They mysteriously drained and healed, so I went about my merry way. Graduated nursing school, and went to work for a colon and rectal surgery group. Ironic right?? They treated me like family. Slowly, I began to lose weight over the next few years, and by the time I was 23, I was only 80lbs. I went to my primary care( I left the surgery group due to moving) and she suggested that I try cutting out gluten. I did, and I began getting SEVERE low back pain every time I had a BM. I went back to my MD, wanted a referral, and she gave me pain meds and a referral for psych. SHE ACTUALLY THOUGHT I HAD AN EATING DISORDER!! And she thought I was seeking pain meds. I was so discouraged. I tried my hardest to cope, but the day came when I was in so much pain, I couldnt talk. My abdomen was distended to about 6 months pregnant, and no BM for a week. I called my MD, no return. I then called my surgeons I worked with a few years prior. Frustrated, one of them actually met me in the ER. At that time I began to vomit stool. Turns out I had obstructions in 3 different area, fistulas into my spinal column and liver, and basically was given 1 week to live.