• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Keep up the fight!!!..and i have a question

Hey all, I'll start by saying God Bless EVERY1

My story began my 2nd yr of college. I (out the blue) started having chronic Diarrhea and really didn’t think much of it, just got some pepto and went along my merry way. I didn’t come concerned until the stomach pain became constant after I ate. I then started noticing blood being lost as well. Being that I was a broke college student I only could afford to go to a local walk in clinic. The doc (shall remain nameless) just kept throwing pills at me, I even went to the ER 3am one morning just 2 get more pills thrown at me. During a break I came home and my grandmother was shocked when she laid eyes on me being that I was skin and bones. (I didn’t think I lost any weight but when u see urself every day who would?) She made me go to another clinic at home to see if I could get help, this new doc told me “ I don’t think there is actually anything wrong with you, I think you have a case of the nerves since you’re away from home”. U wouldn’t believe how fast I left that damn office. When I went back to college after my break I made another trip to the local walk in clinic and after visiting my doctor/pill pusher, my grandmother proceeded to fuss him out and he FINALLY referred me to a local GI. When I finally got to my appointment, just from my conversation with him the GI already knew I had crohns but did a colonoscopy to confirm. I was diagnosed with crohns disease in May 2005. I was prescribed Asacol 400mg 3xs a day and that was it. After three weeks my symptoms vanished and being that the medicine cost so much I lowered my dosage to once a day and rema