• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

The Maker's Diet

Have any of you tried the Maker's Dirty for your children? I am reading the book and it all makes sense to me since I am a nurse. He has not responded to Imuran and we do not want him to take remacaide. Has to many side effects for me to put him on it. He does ok with raw veggies and fruits. Just wanting to hear what you thin:sign0085::sign0085::awe:k.

Am reading the book right now. It makes so much sense to me. Had a discussion about it with my 18 year old daughter lastnight. She doesn't buy it, thinks evolution should take care of problems incurred by not eating the right way. She sees the law of the fittest way.

DustyKat

Super Moderator
My daughter has not tried the makers diet but is on her own version of the paleo diet. I say own version because she is vegan and is now trying raw vegan.

She says she feels fab on it but I know full well that it would just about kill some people on the forum. It would appear that like everything else with this disease diet is highly individual, what is a godsend for one is pure hell for another.

I would also add here that my daughter was in remission before going vegan.

As a side note: Since the makers diet is the bible diet I find it interesting that Jews, particularly the Ashkenazi of Eastern Europe, have an increased rate of Crohn's disease. I wonder what the rate of CD is among those that follow a kosher diet and if that diet has made an impact on the disease's progress.

Dusty. xxx