• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New diagnosis

Hi, im new to this! I'm 23, I was diagnosed with crohn's last week. After 2 and a half years of suffering. I'm on tablets now which are causing me alot of pain and I'm not sure why. I have been back and forth to the doctors and my consultant at the hospital. And also have some gynochology issues, which they say is related to the crohn's. although I am relived to have a diagnosis and to start treatment, I Am worried about how the condition is going to affect me from now on. I have been reading up and people have lots of different experiences which some I can relate to which has been helpful. Do any of you know if it's normal for the tablets to cause pain, and is there anything that helps food or supplement wise? As I really don't like taking medication!!

What tablets are you taking? There are A LOT of different medications used to treat Crohn's Disease from pills, to capsules, to shots to infusions. My stomach gets upset when I take some of my pills without a lot of water & food. If you are on Prednisone, you deffinately need to take that with a meal. I immediatel y throw up if I don't eat anything before/after taking some of my pills.

A lot of women have gyno issues related to their Crohn's and its best to figure out the reason why now. It could be from the diarrhea or it could be from something like an abscess or fistula that might need surgery.

A lot of people on the forum take supplements but you need to ask your doctor first because some of the supplements can interact with your medication. Most people that supplement take things like Probiotics, Vitamin B12, Folic Acid & Vitamin D.