• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to Crohn's and new to forum

Hello,

My name is Hilary I'm 22 and from Mobile Alabama.I was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease about two months ago. I was put on Pentasa and Entocort then I had a flare in May. I ended up in the hospital for a week due to flare up with my intestines. When I was released they changed my dosage to 4000mgs of Pentasa, 9mgs Entocort, and 40mg Prednisone throughout the day. I was then weaned off of until today because of the inflammation and pain. He has put me back on the Prednisone and he is even talking bio weekly shots (which scares me to death)............Back to the point, I'm new to this. I don't know much about the disease or the medicine to treat it I just know its been a rough few months through test and I stay sick which I have never been a sick person which causes me to miss work but lately if you have it I will catch it and all the foods I love to eat are the ones I cant eat anymore.Tuna and noodles are my safe foods and I just hate to try anything else because I know I will regret it.I seem to be putting on weight which is kinda ok because when I went in the hospital I weighted 98lbs.If anyone knows anything about the shots or any advise please comment

David

Co-Founder
Hiya Hilary! Welcome to the forum! I'm so sorry to hear of your problems though, you poor thing :(

When you say weekly shots, are you referring to shots of prednisone? Or a different medication? Maybe Humira?

Do you know where your Crohn's Disease is located? Small intestine? Large intestine? Both?