• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Crohns. Shift Work. UK

Hi I'm a newbie! Looking to share a bit of my story and see if any of my concerns are common, hoping to pick some advic up along the way!

I'm 27 and have been diagnosed with crohns for about two years (although my parents say in hindsight ive always had it) after symptoms of tiredness and diarrhea, a colonoscopy confirmed the diagnosis.
I was only after having a minor collision with a fox on my bycyle that any of the symptoms started up to that point I led a normal and very active lifestyle. Throughout my childhood I was prescribed a lot of steroids which I believe now kept the crohns hidden/at bay.

I work as a train guard over a variety of early and late shifts which I mostly really enjoy, however I don't think shift wok helps at all. After my most recent flare I visited occupational health on my return to work, the outcome of this was to try out doing only early shifts not the early/late pattern - this was a godsend I hadn't felt so well in ages! However the trial came to a end and I'm still waiting for a review of this 2 months on :(

From the outset I was prescribed Pentasa 4x500 mg twice a day. I stuck with thi for approxmetly 6 months but found myself to be exhausted - I would fall asleep at every opportunity! I reverted to half the dose when I felt okay and more when not so good. I have added fish oil supplements in a hope to improve my well being.