• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Crohn's Nightmare

I am new to this and hope to gain some sort of support from other people that have Crohn's disease. I was diagnosed with a mild case of Crohn's disease back in April of 2011. What the doctor calls mild.... is certainly not what I have in mind for the word mild. I have always had stomach problems, as long as I can remember, even had my gall bladder removed many years ago. In 2007, I was told that I cannot tolerate gluten and have been gluten free ever since. THAT was hard, however, this Crohn's thing has thrown me for a freaking loop. The doctor offered no assistance, except wanting to put me on so many medications, I had no idea what was working and was was not. Since losing my job and insurance, in August of 2011, I have experienced more problems, based on stress and diet, I now know. I read a book on Crohn's a while ago and it indicated that a carb-free, sugar-free diet was best for those with Crohn's. I have been on this diet for 2 weeks and I hate food more than I did before. Also, in the last 7-8 months I have dropped 55 lbs, but have leveled off, thank god. However, it is SO frustrating to try and find things to eat that will not result in constant diarrhea, pain and cramping. Now, I eat only sugar-free foods, leaving me with chicken, eggs, fish and fresh fruit and vegatables. Very boring. My social life, what it was before, is now non-existent. I have a HUGE phobia of public restrooms, or those that are not my own, and fear going out of the house for any longer than an hour or so, based on the fact that I may have to use the bathroom. I'm so tired of living with this disease with little to no results and am frustrate