• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Exhausted, sick, frustrate

Hello everyone-- my name is Ashlinn and I need some advice, comfort, etc. I'm only 21.. I'm a full time student and work as much as I can (less since I've been sick).

Since the beginning of January, I've been sick. My dad has been in remission from Crohn's/Colitis for 23 years but I am STILL undiagnosed two months later. These have been my symptoms:

-Frequent diarrhea (with urgency)
-Serious abdominal cramping
-Nausea
-Exhaustion
-Easy bruising
-Lots of colon noises (gurgling, etc)
-Blood/mucus (which Dr says she isn't worried about because I have a fissure)
-Episodes for a few weeks, then I will feel better (but not normal... just won't have constant diarrhea) for a bit and then it will start again. We haven't been able to figure out what triggers it
-Weight loss. I was around 120-124 beginning of January. Last dr's visit (last week) I weighed 105... I'm 5'4
-Urgency to go but only mucus comes out
-Extreme light headedness/dizzy at times
-Have had blood ranging from just on TP to toilet bowl is red...

I've tried clear liquid diet, bland and REALLY basic diet, etc. Liquid diet helped with diarrhea but still had cramping. Doctor has put me on levsin, benefiber, probiotics, etc but nothing has seemed to be the perfect remedy.

I had a sigmoidoscopy middle of January with biopsies. Everything appeared to be normal. My labs were a little off but nothing that provided any definitive information. One doctor said it might be IBS, the other in the office said it didn't fit because I don't have relief after diarrhea.. the pain, discomfort, etc continues.