• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Crohnie since 2006

Hi all. I'm currently an unemployed full-time grad student pursuing a Masters degree in social work. I've had Crohn's Disease since the summer of 2006. I was diagnosed quite acutely. I woke up one Sunday morning thinking I had the flu. I was achey all over and had a fever. No real GI symptoms to speak of though. The fever waxed and waned for a couple days and then I started to have low-grade abdominal pain by Tuesday. By the time I got to an urgent care center that afternoon, my fever had spiked back up to 103 F. That combined with pain in my lower right quadrant earned me a trip to the ER for a CT scan. The doctor at the urgent care center was concerned that I had appendicitis. Oh how I wish that had been it.

The CT scan showed no abnormality with my appendix but I was told there was inflammation in my colon. I had no idea what that could mean. They said they needed to admit me for a colonoscopy the next morning. At 8 pm that night, still with a fever of 102-103 and hooked up to an IV pole, a jug of GoLytely was plunked down in front of me and I was instructed to drink.

After my colonoscopy the next morning, my GI doctor told me that I had Crohn's Disease. He didn't explain what it was. He didn't prepare me in any way. He jut told me not to worry and not to read things on the internet. Well, I did and I did. And I fired him. I was on Prednisone for about a month and a half and started on Pentasa. In the time since, I developed joint pain for a while. The GI I was seeing didn't really know what to do with me because my gut symptoms were under control. He told me I would probably be okay taking some Ibuprofen. Next...