• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Well, At Least I'm Not Crazy...

Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting. I was just diagnosed with Crohn's in February 2013. However, I have been going through a number of problems throughout my life. When I was a teen and into early 20's, I did have episodes where I would have a lot of blood while using the bathroom. Being a dumb kid, I never told ANYONE. I don't know what I was thinking and to this day, I am almost 30 and just told my mother about all of this. In 2008 I began experiencing horrific stomach pains. I went to four different hospitals/ER's (even had multiple ultrasounds) and was told it was nothing. Finally, in 2009 on Inaguration Day, I spent most of the day at the last hospital my mother promised me I would visit. There was a doctor shift change and the new doctor did not feel comfortable sending me home based on my white blood cell count. She knew something was wrong. Sure enough... my gallbladder was filled with stones and about to rupture and I had emergency surgery the next day. I felt amazingly better and had the usual urgency of using the bathroom after this. This has always seemed normal to me (my excuse was always saying I had a "sensitive or nervous" stomach. Little did I know that I actually had something wrong with me.