• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Sesnitivity to smells

Hi! I am new to this and learning how to work a forum. My 14 year old daughter has had crohns since age of 7 and now is very sensitive to smells. Unfortunately, there is a child who has strong body odor and my daughter says she starts to gag when she has to sit near her. Also, she has pain on and off in her upper left abdomen which can be quite severe at times. She is currently on Pentasa 8 capsules a day, Methotrexate injections 25 mg every week and Zofran for nausea. Curious if this is common?

Thanks soo much!

Tesscorm

Staff member
Hi Penny,

Welcome to the forum :) You've certainly come to the right place to ask questions! Lots of very experienced parents and member here... the knowledge and support I've gained has been invaluable! :D

As far as smell sensitivity, that's not something my son has ever mentioned???

Regarding her pain, does her GI know what's causing the pain? There's recently been some discussion in the parents forum about what defines 'remission', I think in most cases, the lack of pain would be expected in remission (although, as your daughter is not newly diagnosed, I'm sure you know that 'remission' can be difficult to determine and there often seems to be frustratingly unexplained 'incidences' with crohns! :facepalm:).

What tests has your daughter had in trying to find the source of the pain?

I'm sure you'll be hearing from lots of other parents soon, they may have some info for you re the smell sensitivity and/or pain.

:ghug:

DustyKat

Super Moderator
Hi Penny and :welcome: