• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Pentasa was working great til i consumed to much alcohol

I am new to crohns and had a partial blockage in january and this is how they found how i have crohns. They had me on prednisone for 6 weeks and then switched to pentasa four times a day and this seemed to be working quite well until i drank way to much last friday bc i didnt know you werent supposed to drink with the stuff. I have gradually gotten better as far as tenderness and sharp pains but I still get bloating and mild to moderate sharp pains every once in awhile throughout the day. I am just wondering if I caused more inflammation and this needs some time to calm back down or if i have made pentasa stopped working. I have only been on it for maybe 3 weeks. I dont know i wish i didnt drink friday night but I guess a lesson learned.

rygon

You can drink on pentasa (doesnt say not to in the instructions and I certainly did), but I do find some drinks do play me up more than others.

Beer, whisky, red wine (anything dark coloured tbh) seems to play me up really bad as well as fizzy drinks.

I stick to cider, vodka and white wine now, although too much does cause me troubles the next day, just not as bad (and not near enough to stop drinking all together). Again I dotn drink half as much as I used to as the after effects arent worth it most of the time.

it does say on some websites that regularly drinking alcohol while taking pentasa can cause bleeding in the stomach. hope u r feeling better now xxxx