• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

6mp

I

imagine123

I've been "diagnosed" with ulcerative colitis since the December of sixth grade (2001). About seven years, I believe. I say "diagnosed" because no one is quite sure if I have Chrons or UC. Still.

It kind of sucked, because there was a scholarship for Chrons, but not for UC. :)

Well, this is my first time on a forum...and I'm here basically because my current doctor wants to try and put me on 6mp. Yes, I read all the scientific literature and horror stories, but it's sort of like, okay what choice do I have?

I've been on Asacol, Prednisone (currently on b/c of flare, hate it), tried Flagil once and threw up for a week, Remicade. Started me on Humira since Remicade was no longer working (that was a test of courage, sticking myself with a needle...) last November, and I thought, hey, maybe this is the last medicine I'll ever need.

And then, here comes a flare. Yep.

So now I'm sick as a dog, trying to juggle college and figure out exactly wtf I can eat (never truly figured that out, other than I have to limit dairy...I'm pretty sure there's something else) and freaked out of my mind about 6mp.

Doesn't it just seem like a last-ditch attempt before colon removal? I'd really like to see me work on my self-esteem with a damn colostemy bag at my side.