• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Medication

Hi everyone...I am new to this and don't normally sign up on chatting sites but I dicovered it while searching for answers and was really happy to see so many other people are out there are dealing with the same problems. My husband wants to be understanding but somethings he just cannot relate to.

I have had crohnes for quite awhile and have been prescribed Asocol and Pentasa over the years. I have a real problem taking pills especially 4 - 4 times a day. When I feel good I always forget until I have a flare up and then back on them I go!

The latest med is Lialda 3 pills once a day but I discovered by reading my doctors notes that he didn't think Lialda was going to work for me. He put me on it because I am non-compliant to everything else he prescribes.

I went to the emergency room about 3 weeks ago because I have experienced 2 episodes of blockage and apparently lucky because it was discovered that I have a narrowing and inflammation. The doc said if I don't start taking care of it, it will result in surgery one day sooner or later. Yep, scared me into listening!

He put me on Entecort 9mg once per day. I sure you all know that it is a steroid which I have always tried to avoid. I admit it, I am vain and don't want to gain weight. The plan is Entecort for 2 months, a stomach x-ray to evaluate the narrowing and then he suggested Remicade. OMG! has anyone read about this stuff? My husband said no way!

My question is for anyone taking Entecort - Did you have weight gain? How long is the longest anyone has been on it and did you experience loss of sleep and burning up in the middle of the night?