• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Crohn's vs Ulcerative collitis

Hello everyone. I'm posting this on behalf of my cousin who is 21 years and suffering from what appears to be Crohn's disease.

The quick story is that she was diagnosed about 3 years ago with ulcerative colitis, but saw little improvement. About 4 months ago it got so worse that she had to do surgery to remove most of the colon. During the operation they did a biopsy and it turned out actually it was Crohn's disease (I'm no doctor, but based on her symptoms I was suspecting Crohn's disease all the time). Now she's hoping to do a second operation and reconnect the colon, but the rectum appears very irritated. The doctor prescribed Mesalasine and Asacol, but from what I'm reading they are used to treat Ulcerative Colitis. Also after surgery the doctor told her "don't worry" Crohn and Ulcerative Colitis have the same medication, so it was no big deal that you got Ulcerative Colitis meds.

Now, from what I'm reading although the symptoms are similar, the meds are quite different. Can anyone please shed some light on this, because I suspect the doctors are just telling a lot of bull*** to "protect" themselves and not accept that she got the wrong meds.

Thank you

kiny

Sorry to hear that, that's ridiculous and also wrong.

In UC, they can readily detect an auto-antigen in 80% of the people. In CD, there is no reproducible auto-antigen.

UC involves the colon, which is very high in gut lumen bacteria. CD tends to involve the small intestine, which means a much lower load in gut lumen bacteria.

People with CD get fistulas because the disease is transmural, UC is topical.