• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Where do you go when you have nowhere to go?

Hello,

My name is Kyliegh and I was diagnosed with Crohn's Colitis in June of 2006. I am currently suffering through month 8 of my latest Crohn's flare and, although this is certainly not my first rodeo, my anxiety has seemed to reach an entirely new level in response to this latest bout. I am a college student attending the University of Michigan (GO BLUE!!), however I have been forced to take these last eight months off because of my health decline.

I am at the point in my flare where it is like a surprise party every morning when I wake up to a new symptom. I don't know where to go at this point because I've basically exhausted all of my options for medications; I've been around the block in the last seven years. Initially we tried a holistic route of treatment, but were forced to go the medication route when my health worsened more yet. We have been against steroids (i.e. Prednisone) from day 1, although I have at dabbled in Entocort, 5 days of IV Solu Medrol (with no taper), and currently, Uceris. I have burned through all current Anti-TNFs: Humira, Cimzia, and Remicade. Remicade was the only medication that has truly put me into remission, but I developed antibodies to the drug after one year. 6-Mertcaptopurine did really nothing for me except for make my pancreatic enzymes rise. I did a stint with Pentasa and am currently on Asacol (Mesalamine). I am also on Methotrexate currently, but that seems to be doing nothing but making my symptoms worse. Clinical trials seem to be the only other option, but I don't qualify because my Hemoglobin levels are too low, even after a blood transfusion.