• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Looking for advice- treating the symptoms

I have been diagnosed with crohns for 4 years and over the last 12 months I have made the decision to come off my azathioprine and instead manage my diet and lifestyle and refer to medication to manage flare ups.

Since my diagnosis I have not had a significant flare up, although it did take a long time for my symptoms to subside.

I have changed my diet and now eat clean, do not eat grains and do not smoke. I limit my alcohol consumption and exercise daily.

I would like to hear from people with more experience- from both sides as I am relatively new to this and in terms of support since diagnosis it has been minimal.

I am reaching out on here to learn from crohns suffers who have successfully managed their contrition through diet and treat flares. Equally, and almost more importantly, I would like to hear from long term sufferers who may have tried this method and been unsuccessful.

I am not militant about drug less treatment- but struggle to see the upside of having to take a serious drug daily, for which I have to have quarterly blood tests in order to ensure there is no damage to my kidneys/ liver etc.

I am quite naive about all of this, as I have said the support on offer haven't been great.

Thank you to anyone who takes the time to reply,

Steph xx