• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to all things Crohn's!

Hi All

I am new to hear and new to Crohn's!

Diagnosed in November, so far I have had two lots of steroids (Pred) took the first course for 10 weeks alonside mezavant then when I stopped them the syptoms came back so they put me back on them. Just finished (on Tuesday last week) another 10 week course this time with mezavant and azathioprine this time. However my symptoms seem to have come back again already. Is this normal? What will the next step be? I REALLY don't want to go back on the prednisilone as I seem to have suffered every possible side effect with them!

Thanks

Amy - You will find that there is no "normal" with Crohn's. Everyone's symptoms are different and everyone reacts to the various medications differently. Pentasa, which I believe is the same thing as mezavant, didn't work for me either, and I am the same way, when I go off of prednisone I flare back up. The side effects can really be bad on pred, but when I'm on it, my symptoms are usually in check. It's probably just going to be a trial and error kind of thing until you find the right medication or combination of medications. Hang in there!

Lisa

Hi Amy, welcome to the forum.