• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to this, introducing myself (long!)

Hi guys, i'm extremely new to this so I'm still learning, and I'm very confused and unsettled about the whole situation at the best of times so I apologise if things get a bit jumbled.

I'm 18, 19 in February, and ever since I can remember I would get sick really easily, often being taken home from friends houses in the middle of the night due to feeling terribly ill after eating anything. I always thought of it as a "Junk food intolerance" and thought no further of the situation.

When I was in high school, at age 14 I was really active, really happy, doing very well in school. All of a sudden I got sick one day, and was off school for two weeks with severe abdominal pain, vomiting, aching joints, fever and chills etc. I was losing on average 5kg every 2 days, by the time I was well enough to go back to school I had gone from 80kg to 55kg, I had no energy, had to be extremely careful what I ate, I couldn't do any physical activities. The doctors couldn't figure out what it was and passed it off as a virus, but now I'm not so sure.

The rest of high school passed in a similar fashion, at least once a month I would have 3-4 days off school because I was ill again. Some months were bad enough that I would have up to 3 days each week bedridden.
I went from a straight A student to failing everything, I eventually no longer cared whether I passed or failed, Once I got my drivers license and a car I would often drive home part way through the day saying I had no more classes left to do.