• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Should I persist with drugs or consider major surgery?

Warning - long rambling ahead...

While I am a newbie here I have been battling this illness for 10 years now, I was diagnosed as one of these indeterminate colitis folk in 2004 at aged 15. However recently a few doctors who have reviewed my entire history are starting to lean toward crohns or crohns colitis diagnosis – this is due to the fistulas, my bro recently being diagnosed with crohns, my sister has had tests saying she is at risk of crohns and grandfather with cancer in the large bowel.

Anyway - I am currently going insane over 3 fistulas – 1 rectovaginal, 2 perianal. While none are draining blood or pus I have a large amount of stool passing through it and occasional gas. The leakage of stool is constant and sometimes feels like diarrhea but through the wrong hole. The skin all around my backside and vagina is constantly red and sore (barely managed through using calmoseptine, wipes, and constant clean pads). I also do have a great sense of urgency/pressure to go to the toilet, when I do have a BM the pressure can be quite uncomfortable with straining – this may be more to do with my jpouch more than anything but I have notice the urgency/pressure is a whole lot worse since the fistulas arrived, often needing lengthy bathroom visits 7+ times a day and this is on top of the fistula constantly leaking stool. The consistency hasn’t changed however, always ‘porridge’ like – sorry probably TMI.