• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Parents of Pre-Teens and Teens with IBD

My name is Lori Smith and I'm the parent of Antonio, my 15 yr old "Crohnie". Antonio was diagnosed in Sept 2010 with Crohn's Disease & our lives haven't been the same.

I'm creating this support group for other parents of pre-teen/teenage "Crohnies". I had no idea what Crohn's was and I work in healthcare.

The main thing we want you to know is that YOU ARE NOT ALONE!!!! We are here to provide a listening ear and great information regarding research, financial, medicines, etc. to help you make the best informed decision for your child.

Last edited by a moderator:
I actually really like the idea of a support thread for Parents of Pre-Teens and Teens with IBD. There are actually a number of situations unique to that age group and going through puberty and having to deal with IBD along with all that.

Thank you Julia...our son is 14 years old with delayed puberty, so we are definately looking for any ideas to continue progress. Last week we had scans, swabs and labs done to determine why our son was so tired for about two months...Is it Crohn's related or puberty? Still waiting on results. Will share any info that I receive from our experiences as well as looking forward to any of the info on here to help us!!!

DS hits 13 in August, so I think we fit the bill of this group! Just about to start on the low FADMAP diet, we know it won't be easy but happy to give anything ago!