• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Worrying? nurses repeat blood pressure when high.

starting about a year ago i started getting high blood pressure often. i had a ekg (somthing like that). and I'm getting it more and more often. the nurses just do it again and sometimes a third time until it's not to high.

is this ok?

I'm thinking of not letting them do it more then once next time.

I normally have low blood pressure, sometimes too low. Whenever I was in a flare, my blood pressure would rise and I also had nurses do repeat blood pressure checks on me.

It doesn't harm you to have it checked more than once. If they need to do it, let them do it.

I work as an RN, and if we get a high or low reading, we often recheck it one or two more times to make sure it is accurate. There are a number of factors that can affect it even little things like how you are laying in bed or if you talk while we are taking your BP.

that's why i didn't post this until now but it started happening practically every time. and sometimes doesn't go down after two or three tries and stays high.

I know sometimes if they use a machine the first time and it gives a high reading, then they do it manually. I've had this happen often too, and they know since I have no history of high blood pressure that it could be a weird thing with the machine. Usually mine goes down when they take it the second time. If yours does stay high after 3 times, they probably take note of that, and will address it if necessary

scottsma