• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Doctor Says He Does Not Have Enough Evidence to Tell Me I have Crohn's

Hello All,

This is my first time posting in here but throughout my experiences I have read a ton of posts here that have been very helpful!

About a year ago I began having abdominal pain, bloating, gas and burps (often smelling of sulphur) diarrhea (to the point that I could not make it to the bathroom sometimes), mood swings and fatigue on regular days and severe abdominal pain (once to the point I had to go to the ER) during flare ups.

I was recently referred to a Gastroenterologist who automatically decided to do a Colonoscopy because my sibling has Crohn's.

I had an appointment today where I was supposed to get the results for the Colonoscopy but was a little bit disappointed and unsure upon leaving the doctor's office.

He said he wasn't really sure how to diagnose me. He said when he did the scope everything seemed fine until he hit the end of the small and beginning of the large intestine at which point he saw inflammation, tiny ulcers and red spots. He said we could take the route of treating me for Crohn's but that it would be a mild case and that he feels he has some but not strong enough evidence to point to Crohn's. He said he could also diagnose IBS though and basically gave me the choice it seemed like.

In posting this I guess I'm asking if anyone had the same experience. My sibling was told the same thing by the same doctor after his Colonoscopy until things started to get really bad and he is now on medication for Crohn's.