• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Tired all the time?

Hello,

My name's Meg and I haven't used this forum in over 4 years, hence my embarrassing 16 year old username 'Megz'. I had a hemicolectomy in June 2010 and only had a small flare up with a bout of steroids in 2012 and had previously been happy just on Azathioprine.

I'm a university student studying to be a primary teacher and I've just been told that I'm having a flare up again with 25cm of ulcers in the resected part of my bowel, which I'm aware is quite a small flare up. However my main issue at the moment is with fatigue and it's having a large impact on my life.

I'm constantly tired, with some days it feels almost impossible to leave my bed. I feel like it's affected who I am, and I feel like I'm a dull shell of myself lately. I struggle eating 'healthy' food such as vegetables and high fibre energy foods as it irritates my bowels and I have, frustratingly, at times have turned to fizzy drinks as a source of energy.

I was wondering if there's any other people who struggle with tiredness at my age and how they've dealt with this. Does diet help?

Thanks for anyone who can help.

Hi Megz, oh I can certainly relate to embarrassing usernames, I have several on other websites relating to a Lord of The Rings craze many a year ago!

I am going to suggest a couple of things here.

Firstly, what is the treatment plan for your current situation, as it seems the Aza is perhaps not enough?

Secondly, have you had recent bloods done such as Iron, B12 etc to check for any deficiencies, which can usually be helped if not corrected with prescription strength supplements.