• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

TOO Thick Output?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to all this and just got out of the hospital a week ago from my ileostomy surgery (Ulcerative colitis). I've noticed that my stool seems almost TOO thick - like toothpaste instead of applesauce, and I'm wondering if I should do something to thin it down?

I'm eating mostly gluten-free breads, butternut squash / pureed soups, yogurt, some Rice Chex, a Boost drink, Macaroni and cheese, and tons of water, ha ha. I'm not sure what kinds of foods to introduce to help things a bit - I don't do too well with meat... but maybe more whole grains? Baby food?

Has anyone else had this problem? It's got me a little worried... :confused2:

I've always been told toothpaste consistency is perfect, in fact toothpaste seems to be stoma nurses' favourite thing to represent healthy stoma output.

Please don't try whole grains this soon after surgery, you'll risk a blockage.

Were you given any information on diet at the hospital? Did anyone (doctor, stoma nurse) tell you your output was too thick?

There are foods that can help with output that's too thick, but I'm not sure that you need them.

If possible, I'd contact your stoma nurse and ask for some advice on diet. There are lots of guides online also. The first six to eight weeks after ileostomy surgery, you should prioritise avoiding foods that can cause blockages. When I have a minute I'll see if I can find a good online guide to send you a link to.

This isn't a medical site, but the advice seems to match that I've seen given in professional medical guides pretty well, and is much more thorough than a lot of them: