• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Crohns pain upper right quadrant

Hi everyone,
I am new to this but I've had crohns since I'm 11 years old. I'm now 35 and I've had terrible pain just under my ribs on the right side. It's so unbearable that I went to the ER because I thought for sure it was my gallbladder but turns out everything seems fine. Here's a little background info. I've always had stomach pain, weight loss and fevers since I was a child and I would go to the hospital for Iv steroids and I lived on 6mp. In 2006 I had a small bowel resection for a stricture. In 2009 I became pregnant with my son and immediately stopped the 6mp. After I gave birth to him I was symptom free for about a year. Then all of a sudden I started getting terrible paralyzing pains in my right UQ. After doing every test imaginable for my gallbladder my doctor decided to treat the pain as crohns pain. Started humira. Was on it for a year and my symptoms got worse. Only now the pain was in my chest and joints as well. Excruciating pain. Make a long story short the humira gave me drug induced lupus. It took about a year but that finally went away and the right UQ pain was back again. Started 6mp again which seemed to help until January 2014 when I got the flu and pneumonia and ended up in the hospital again. I decided to stop all meds and was fine until Tuesday night. Ended up in ER for the worst pain of my life. It hurts so bad I can't stand up straight, can't lay down (especially on my right side) my ct scans are good just showing slight thickening of ileum with no active crohns. I've had so many scans that showed active crohns in the past but the pain was never this bad. My gallbladder was fine,