• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

I'm a newbie to this

Hello, here is my story.
In January of this year I decided to go to the doctor after a few months of having stomach cramps and pain and this may be TMI but was having a substance coming out of my belly button. I had been extremely tired all the time, could fall asleep in only a few minutes, but I just thought I wasn't sleeping well. I do not go to doctors, except for my annual exams so I needed to find a doc. I went to a family doc, who drew my blood, looked at my belly buttons and gave me antibiotics. The next day I got a call at work tell me I need to go to the hospital immediately as I was losing blood and needed a transfusion. I wasn't prepared for what the next two months would bring for me. I had an ultrasound, colonoscopy, endoscopy, CT scan, pelvic ultrasound and a capsule endoscopy with blood draws to find the source of my anemia.
I even went to see a Hematologist, nothing, no results. I had both the GI and hematologist telling me they did not know the cause of my anemia. I had several friends and some family telling me That my symptoms sounded like an autoimmune disease, so I asked them (GI and Hematologist) and they both stated my symptoms didn't match....I had no blood in my stool and no diarrhea. However they still needed to review my capsule endoscopy. I was starting to think it was all in my head, but obviously there was something wrong because I required a blood transfusion. I got several messages from the GI doc to call them, so I did. I was driving home yesterday when I got the news....Crohn's disease.