• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

When will the weight gain go away?

Hi, friends! I just joined so I'm new to this, but I'm super anxious and really worried looking for some advice/input. Basically I was diagnosed with Crohn's February 2014. I am very blessed in that I have never had the diarrhea issue. My Crohn's symptoms are mainly extreme bloating (looking about 4 months pregnant), nausea, extreme fatigue, cramps, and frequent awful flatulence. I was put on Pentasa and Entocort (3mg 3x/day). I did fine until month 5. I started gaining weight and gained 10 pounds in two months at that point and am up another 5 now for a total of 15. I am a dance instructor. I eat really healthy and clean, I do love some sweets every now and then, and I workout 5-6x per week. The weight gain just doesn't make sense and my husband and I both think it has to be the Entocort. (Btw, my husband is a personal trainer and so from a professional point of view he doesn't understand it either with the way that I eat and workout.) I do count calories and track calories burned during workouts and considering the fact that weight management is a mathematical equation, my uncontrollable weight gain must be due to the medicine. I have slowly tapered off the Entocort for the last 3 months and am no longer on that, but continue to take the Pentasa (when I remember... Bad, I know) and I started Humira injections (every other week) back in December when I started weaning off the Entocort. So for now it's Pentasa and Humira and been completely off Entocort for a few days but slowly weaning since December. I thought the weight would come off with the weaning, but no, I'm slowly getting bigger. I know that 15 lb