• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hello Everyone! (New and learning)

Hello! How is everyone today?

You can call me Lenah. I'm 23 years old and live in Ontario, Canada.

So I am fairly new to this. I might as well just jump right in to my story.

In 2013, out of the blue, I started seeing blood on and off in my stool. This went on for a few months without any pain, and I was hoping it would resolve itself and just go away. When it didn't, I went to my doctor who, after some tests, referred me to a GI.

March 2014, at 22 years old, I was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis. I remember waking up after the colonoscopy, and the GI let me know while I was still groggy. I cried a little bit. When she told me I should be careful of having dairy, I started bawling. Looking back, it's hilarious that her warning against cheese is what got me so upset! (Can't blame me though, I'm Italian and looooove good cheese! ...or anything dairy for that matter :ybiggrin: )

We caught the disease fairly early. She told me to make a follow-up appointment for as soon as I could after the colonoscopy. But I was in shock from the diagnosis and never did. I felt blind-sided and there was a lot of "why me, why this, why now?" running through my head. Heck, there still is.

So I took the prescription that my GI gave me of Pentasa for a month, and started to flare again. I was in denial for about a year, hoping it would get better and thinking I could take care of myself, or that maybe it would just go away.