• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hello Everyone.

I'm a newbie to Crohn's and to this forum. I had my first colonoscopy three years ago when I turned 50, and was told I was asymptomatic for ileitis, because I didn't have abdominal pain or diarrhea.

Over the next few years, I went to a rheumatologist and then an orthopedist for excruciating joint pain (hips, lower back, knees). I learned that I did not have RA and that I had mild degenerative disc...which could explain the back pain only. Needless to say the PT didn't do much for me. I also started acupuncture, but that only helped for a few hours after each session.

This past spring, I started having abdominal pain. While not nearly as bad as the joint pain, I used it as an excuse to go back to the GI. He finally admitted that perhaps I was symptomatic for Crohn's, and was concerned I may have a stricture. He did another colonoscopy, and yes I was inflammed, but had no strictures, so he put me on endicort. He then did a EGD and confirmed that I have gastritis, hietal hernia and acid reflux, so he put me on prevacid.

My follow up showed no change in symptoms, so he did a capsule endoscopy. The result was "extensive Crohn's" with no narrowing and he is now planning to put me on "aggressive treatment" aka Humira. I'm waiting on the insurance company right now.

Of course, I'm overwhelmed and confused. I'd love some feedback...

- I understand that the goal is to get me into remission and to heal the inflammation to avoid future complications, but I'm not sure if this is the right next step. It's a huge commitment.