Crohn's Disease Forum » Treatment » Remicade/Infliximab » remission and concerns about Remicade

01-19-2018, 10:08 PM   #1
kap

remission and concerns about Remicade

I was diagnosed with Crohn's when I was 12. When I was diagnosed, the disease had progressed to the point that my stomach was bleeding severely and I was extremely underweight. Upon diagnosing me with Crohn's, my pediatric GI immediately put me on Remicade.

Remicade worked wonders for me. It took a few years but ultimately I made a complete recovery. I have had a few complications over the years with kidney stones and joint pain, but my digestive issues have been kept relatively in check.

Now, 8 years later, I am a college student and I still manage Crohn's with Remicade infusions every 8 weeks. I understand that I am extremely fortunate to have made a recovery and to be able to live a full, normal life. However, I am worried that continuing to use Remicade could be detrimental to my long term health.

My biggest issue with Remicade is that I am sick all the time. I have had a cough for several months that I havent been able to shake despite being on antibiotics. Upon my most recent visit to my school's health center about this cough, I tested positive for mono. As a college student on Remicade I find that I am always sick with something. It is extremely taxing on my body and I am worried about the long term consequences.

Additionally, my mom has ulcertive colitis which she treats with Remicade. After a few years of successful treatment, she began to develop an MS like disorder, which she insists came from the drug. Obviously, MS is the last thing I want to get from my Crohn's disease treatment.