• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Crohn's info/help appreciated - I'm a newbie to this so please bare with me.

INTRO
I personally don't suffer from IBS or Crohn's disease.
However my partner has been diagnosed with Crohn's for 10 years now but she had it about 4 years prior to being officially diagnosed.

The reason for this post is because I have never felt such a connection between anyone in the past and I really do love her a lot and will do anything I can to try help her with her Crohn's or anything for that matter, if I can.

She was 34 when first diagnosed.

MEDICATION
My partner takes 50mg of puriNethol once daily and has been on it for the last 18 months.
When ever she suffers with a serious flair up she takes 25mg of Prednisone and then gets weaned off them by reducing 5mg per week.

She hasn't had any bleeding for about 8 years now.

CHANGES
She always drank coffee daily only a cup or two.
However since she's been with me as I like to research I found out that caffeine when on puriNethol is not good.
She shocked me in all honesty as she started the De-Caf as soon as I mentioned it, thankfully she listened and had the will power to stop caffeine. She hasn't been drinking coffee for the past 10 weeks to 3 months now and only drinks De-Caf coffee and has noticed a MASSIVE decrease in discomfort in her abdomen to the point her abdominal pain is basically non existent.
Also she has noticed a significant decrease in flair ups since drinking De-Caf

This forum looks to be fantastic as I know first hand how forums can lead to plenty of handy tips or advice that can seem like a miracle at times.