• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New Here, not New to Crohn's: Humira vs. Remicade

Hi all,

I am 23 and have been battling with Crohn's for the last 7 years. I am a second year medical student and am finding dealing with the symptoms and pain a pain in the ass when trying to study what feels like 24/7.

I feel like I must have tried every drug out there. 3 years ago I had to have an emergency bowel resection, which wasn't ideal because they couldn't even take out the main diseased bowel, nor the fistula which continues to cause many of my symptoms.

I have been on 6MP forever but as my disease has gotten worse my doctor told me I needed to start on a biologic. So trying to avoid Remicade and its infusions (which I feel like will be impossible to fit into my schedule), I tried Humira. Unfortunately after 3 months I had very little improvement with my inflammatory levels still sky high.

So I stopped Humira and now my doctor wants me to start Remicade. I think I am finally broken down enough to give it a shot if it will help me start feeling better. I was just wondering if anyone out there has had Humira not work for them and Remicade work? I don't really understand why one would work and one not if they are both TNF alpha blockers. I guess I can only hope.

Please reply if you have any insight

:welcome: BB!! Ahhh, I remember 2nd year med school pretty well - my husband and I started dating when he was in 2nd year. I'd try and get this beast quiet before your rotations start if possible!! (fingers crossed!!!)