• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Feeling Guilty

So I have been feeling like the world's worst employee and wife lately and it is so hard.

I am a teacher and I have spent 2 years at a high school with students and staff that I adored. I started my 3rd year there, but because of a bill passed and the school's rating the school district decided to move me to another school. Now I'm at a rough middle school and the stress is taking its toll. Since September I have not made it a full week. Usually I call out on Thursday or Friday because I wake up in pain from my Crohn's. On top of that I got a C. diff infection so I haven't been to work since 10/23. I have gone through all of my paid sick leave so now that I am missing all of this work I am putting my husband and I in financial trouble. He doesn't know how much I have actually missed, because I get embarrassed and I feel guilty when I miss work so I don't always tell him.

I have always been the kid that felt guilty for being sick at home from school and that has continued into adulthood. When I'm home sick for any reason, I spend all day feeling guilty. Now we are at a whole new level of guilt. The principal at my school has tried to be understanding, she moved me from teaching Language Arts to teaching an elective so that when I'm out it's not as detrimental to the kids and to my teaching "score." I appreciate it but it's also embarrassing. I just feel like a horrible employee because I have missed so much work and I know that is just making things worse. :'(